top of page

Impact of CTLT

by Dr. Dustin Briggs, Assistant Professor of Communications


As I type this post while sitting at a CTLT-installed computer, I can't help but reflect on how positively this space has impacted my life and career since its recent inception.


From a professional standpoint it has been wonderful. The job Randy and Jeff have done to curate creative educational experiences and professional development opportunities has continued to impress me. I've had the chance to attend dozens of well-produced sessions that have given me fuel to try the scary, the new, and the better in my classrooms. I've been lucky enough to be in the space to learn about what my colleagues across departments are doing in their research and activism; stuff I'd likely never have known otherwise. I've even been privileged to see and use new, cutting-edge classroom technology that I didn't even know existed. I've walked off a building in virtual reality and learned how to capture videos to add to my educational tool belt.


As much as it has impacted me professionally, the impact has likely been more significant personally. This is my 4th year at NCC now, but in many arenas I still feel new. There are a number of faces I see but can't name and still haven't talked to meaningfully. The CTLT has significantly decreased that number helped me feel more like I am at home. I've had tea with new adjunct instructors and faculty lifers. Informal mentorships have been afforded to me through my greater proximity to intelligent, experienced people. I get to run a game night twice a month to share one of my passions in a way that hopefully helps bring fun and camaraderie to the world. I've even been able to introduce my little guy to a number of wonderful educators who either can't resist the instinct to positively influence young minds or are at least patient enough to put up with his presence, knowing I couldn't attend the event otherwise. They've treated him like family in that space and in doing so, welcomed me as well.


Thanks to all who have made this space real and to those who continue to maintain it. You are doing wonderful work and it is genuinely appreciated.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How Working Remotely has Transformed My Teaching

by Jen Bradley, Associate Professor, Psychology / Applied Psychology 2020 was a rollercoaster of a year. Watching COVID chart its course across the globe from the vantage point of my home office was a

Should I Get the COVID-19 Vaccine?

by Sonia E. Massie, Assistant Professor, Biology Recently, I was asked for my input about the COVID-19 vaccine by relatives trying to decide whether they would get the vaccine. I thought it might help

  • blackboard
  • TWITTER
  • YOUTUBE
  • FACEBOOK
  • instragram
bottom of page