top of page

Little Things Can Make a Big Difference

by Leyna Beard, First Year Experience Administrator

I come into contact with hundreds of students every day. I walk down hallways. I grab some lunch in the cafeteria. I rush down the stairs to a meeting. True story, the other day I taught a student how to use a computer mouse.


Why am I writing this? To remind all of us that these interactions matter. Every single time we come into contact with a student our interaction can make a difference in their life. When I walk down hallways I smile without caring if the student smiles in return. If one does smile back, I know I made a difference in their day. I made them smile.


I’m not an employee of The Learning Center but when a student needs help, I step up. We frequently see adult students that lack basic computer skills, like using a computer mouse or knowing how to indent paragraphs. Why do I take time to help? Because I know that my simple words of encouragement, my patience, and my understanding can make a difference. All of us, the faculty and staff, are NCC’s greatest retention tool. Whether we like it or not, the students here look up to us as role models. I think it’s easy to forget that as we get busier and budgets tighten. Every interaction matters, so remember to smile, say hello, and check-in, that might be all it takes to bring that student back next semester.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How Working Remotely has Transformed My Teaching

by Jen Bradley, Associate Professor, Psychology / Applied Psychology 2020 was a rollercoaster of a year. Watching COVID chart its course across the globe from the vantage point of my home office was a

Should I Get the COVID-19 Vaccine?

by Sonia E. Massie, Assistant Professor, Biology Recently, I was asked for my input about the COVID-19 vaccine by relatives trying to decide whether they would get the vaccine. I thought it might help

  • blackboard
  • TWITTER
  • YOUTUBE
  • FACEBOOK
  • instragram
bottom of page